Harold H. Hines Jr.

Harold H. Hines Jr. Visiting Fellowship
In memory of long-time Board of Trustees member Harold Hines, North Shore endowed this visiting fellowship, which annually brings to campus a distinguished individual who articulates the School’s motto, “Live and Serve.” Mr. Hines provided exceptional leadership to North Shore and was president of the Board of Trustees from 1971-1973. In addition, his three children graduated from North Shore as “lifers,” and his wife Mary Pick Hines ’49, Life Trustee, is a distinguished alumna who has served the School at the highest level for many years including President of the Alumni Board, member of the Benefit Board and Board of Trustees.
    • Harold H. Hines, Jr.

Past Harold Hines Visiting Fellows have included:

2019 Genevieve Nielsen ’10, entrepreneur.
2018 Beth Murphy, award-winning documentary filmmaker and author. 
2017 John Lewis, Georgia Congressman and civil rights icon, and Andrew Aydin, co-author of the award-winning graphic-novel series March and Digital Director & Policy Advisor to Congressman Lewis.
2016 Bryan Stevenson, Founder and Executive Director of the Equal Justice Initiative, and author of Just Mercy: A Story of Justive and Redemption, and professor of clinical Law at NYU School of Law
2015 Patrick Meier, UNICEF Humanitarian Innovations Fellow, a National Geographic Emerging Explorer and an internationally recognized thought leader on humanitarian technology and innovation.
2014 Marjorie Agosín, award-winning poet, essayist, fiction writer, activist and professor
2012 Will Allen, farmer, founder and CEO of Growing Power
2011 Clemantine Wamariya, survivor of the Rwandan genocide, 23-year-old student at Yale, activist and advocate on a number of issues, and named by President Obama to the United States Holocaust Museum Council as the youngest member ever to serve on the Board.
2010 Jon Siskel & Greg Jacobs, co-founders of Siskel/Jacobs Productions
2009 Liz McCartney, co-founder of the St. Bernard Project
2009 Dr. Christopher W. Clark, researcher of animal acoustic communication from Cornell University
2008 Greg Mortenson, author of Three Cups of Tea and founder of the Central Asia Institute
2007 Dr. John M. Grunsfeld, NASA astronaut
2006 Dr. Nadinne Cruz, former assistant director of Stanford's Haas Center for Public Service
2005 Dr. Dorothy Roberts, professor, Northwestern University Law School and faculty fellow at Northwestern's Institute for Policy Research
2004 Timothy Wilson, vice president and camp director of Seeds of Peace
2003 Rosanne Haggerty, founder of Common Ground Community
2002 Kristin Kearns, founder & executive director of Bronx Preparatory Charter School
2001 Sara Lawrence Lightfoot, sociologist & professor, Harvard University
2000 Russell Mittermeier, president of Conservation International
1999 Millard Fuller, founder and president of Habitat for Humanity
1998 Harry Wu, Chinese dissident, author and human rights activist
1997 David Rohde, Pulitzer Prize-winning writer
1996 Berea College Dancers
1995 Dr. Jane Goodall, the Jane Goodall Institute
1994 William Ferris, author folklorist, filmmaker & academic administrator
1993 William Pinkney, first African-American to sail solo around the world
1992 Mary Anne Schwalbe, retired executive director, Women's Commission for Refugee Women & Children
1991 Christopher Childs, Greenpeace spokesperson and activist
1990 Mark Salzman, author
1989 Mira Nair, director of the film Salaam Bombay
1988 Dexter King, chairman, president & CEO of Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change
1987 Franklin A. Thomas, former president, The Ford Foundation
1986 A. Bartlett Giamatti, president of Yale University
North Shore Country Day School is a junior kindergarten through 12th grade, college-preparatory school founded in Winnetka, Illinois in 1919.  With rigorous academic pursuit as the cornerstone, North Shore provides many opportunities for all students to excel – in the classroom and the laboratory, on the stage and the playing field, in their communities and beyond.